Top

Venice is in the form of a fishAccording to the maps. The tail of the sestieri from Castello is Castello. Castello is the largest and best known of all the sestieri of the city. It is also the district of theArsenal. The Arsenal, hidden behind its high towers, is like a forbidden city. The development of the district was influenced by the establishment of the shipyard on the Gemini Islands (twin islands) in the early 13th century. All sorts of activities developed around the area that was to become Europe's largest shipbuilding complex. Modest dwellings were built for the sailors and shipyard workers, many foreign communities settled there and some palaces are built. The mendicant orders (Dominicans, Franciscans) cleaned up the northern part. There were many charitable institutions (ospedali), and their large presence has made them a important area. The Arsenal was in fact located halfway between San Marco and Rialto to the west and San Pietro to the east.

The Castello district

The Castello à Venice is worth a trip in itself. It is a district well known. The laundry hanging in the windows on washing days is a testament to this. It is the longest street in Venice. In the evening, at aperitif time, it is enough to see the terraces fill up and the glasses full of Spritz to enjoy the joys of living among the Venetians. This district is quite large and includes the Giardini that were created by Napoleon II. You can also visit San Pietro di Castello, which has remained authentic with its priory. A little further on, you will find the Venetian football stadium and the Marina. The entrance to the arsenal of the Castello is located a few steps from the Doge's Palace. Although the armoury is currently closed to the public, it is planned to open it soon.

  The islands north of Venice: we tell you everything

The Venice Arsenal

The Arsenale, located in the Castello district of Veniceis theone of the monuments the most emblematic. Unfortunately, the interior of this vast complex is not not accessible It is not open to the public, so visitors can only see it from the outside.

The armoury has contributed significantly to the military and commercial power of the Republic of Venice in the 14th and 15th centuries.

The Venetian arsenal was a success both in terms of military thateconomic. They have also been able to develop new ship designs, such as the galleon.

The Venetian arsenal is still owned by the Italian Navy. However, some of its parts are now owned by Venice. These parts were occasionally made available to the public during the 1999 Biennial.

The interior of the Arsenal in Venice is not accessible, but it is worth a visit during your stay in the City of the Doges. The interior of this huge shipyard is worth a visit!

The Island of San Pietro

At the time ofAltinoA fortress was built on theSan Pietro Island. This seems to be the source of the name of this sestiere. The island, known for its olive shape and long name OlivoloThe church was given its own church, San Pietro. It became the episcopal see in 775. It remained so for more than thousand years. San Pietro, one of the oldest occupied islands in the world, was also the site of Sant'Elena. However, San Pietro and the rest of the district were urbanised very late. The Public Gardens were created by the great Napoleonic interventions.

The Via Eugenia

The Via Eugenia (nowadays Via Garibaldi) was opened by the Biennial of contemporary art. Castello is a museum city that Venice has become. Since history has turned its page of glory, it is one of the few places that has undergone significant changes. This is how the following were born Sant'Elena (1925-1928), Celestia (1938-1939), and the houses in the south-eastern part of San Pietro.

  How to get to the Gorges du Verdon?

Museo Storico Navale

Near the famous Arsenalyou will find the Museum of Naval History in Castello, Museo Storico Navale. The museum houses a fascinating collection of historical gondolasand other important memorabilia for the maritime history of Venice. The Museo Storico Navale is the museum of the Italian Navy. It also exhibits the fascinating past of this organisation.

0
en_GBEnglish (UK)
%d bloggers like this:

Top

Venise a la forme d’un poisson, d’après les cartes. La queue du sestieri de Castello est Castello. Castello est le plus grand et le plus connu de tous les sestieri de la ville. C’est aussi le quartier de l’Arsenal. L’Arsenal, caché derrière ses hautes tours, est comme une ville interdite. Le développement du quartier a été influencé par l’établissement du chantier naval sur les îles Gemini (îles jumelles) au début du 13ème siècle. Toutes sortes d’activités se sont développées autour de la zone qui allait devenir le plus grand complexe naval d’Europe. De modestes habitations sont construites pour les marins et les ouvriers du chantier naval, de nombreuses communautés étrangères s’y installent et quelques palais sont édifiés. Les ordres mendiants (dominicains, franciscains) ont nettoyé la partie nord. Il y avait de nombreuses institutions de charité (ospedali), et leur grande présence en a fait une zone importante. L’Arsenal était en fait situé à mi-chemin entre San Marco et Rialto à l’ouest et San Pietro à l’est.

Le quartier du Castello

Le quartier du Castello à Venise vaut à lui seul un voyage. C’est un quartier très connu. En témoigne le linge suspendu aux fenêtres les jours de grande lessive. C’est la rue la plus longue de Venise. Le soir, à l’heure de l’apéritif, il suffit de voir les terrasses se remplir et les verres pleins de Spritz pour apprécier les joies de vivre parmi les Vénitiens. Ce quartier est assez vaste et comprend les Giardini qui ont été créés par Napoléon II. Vous pouvez également visiter San Pietro di Castello, qui est resté authentique avec son prieuré. En outre, un peu plus loin, vous trouverez le stade de football des Vénitiens et la Marina. L’entrée de l’arsenal du quartier de Castello est située à quelques pas du palais des Doges. Bien que l’arsenal soit actuellement fermé au public, il est prévu de l’ouvrir prochainement.

  Carcans Plage, entre lac et océan, vous avez le choix

L’arsenal de Venise

L’Arsenal, situé dans le quartier du Castello à Venise, est l’un des monuments les plus emblématiques. L’intérieur de ce vaste complexe n’est malheureusement pas accessible au public, les visiteurs ne peuvent donc le voir que de l’extérieur.

L’arsenal a largement contribué à la puissance militaire et commerciale de la République de Venise aux XIVe et XVe siècles.

L’arsenal vénitien fut un succès tant sur le plan militaire qu’économique. Ils ont également pu développer de nouveaux modèles de navires, comme le galion.

L’arsenal vénitien est toujours la propriété de la marine italienne. Toutefois, certaines de ses parties appartiennent désormais à Venise. Ces parties ont été occasionnellement rendues accessibles au public lors de la Biennale 1999.

L’intérieur de l’Arsenal de Venise n’est pas accessible, mais il mérite une visite lors de votre séjour dans la Cité des Doges. L’intérieur de cet énorme chantier naval vaut la peine d’être visité !

L’Île de San Pietro

À l’époque d’Altino, une forteresse a été construite sur l‘île San Pietro. Cela semble être la source du nom de ce sestiere. L’île, connue pour sa forme d’olive et son long nom Olivolo, reçut sa propre église, San Pietro. Elle devint le siège épiscopal en 775. Elle le resta pendant plus de mille ans. San Pietro, l’une des plus anciennes îles occupées du monde, était également le site de Sant’Elena. Cependant, San Pietro et le reste du quartier ont été très tardivement urbanisés. Les Jardins Publics ont été créés par les grandes interventions napoléoniennes.

La Via Eugenia

La Via Eugenia (aujourd’hui Via Garibaldi) a été ouverte par la Biennale d’art contemporain. Castello est une ville-musée que Venise est devenue. Depuis que l’histoire a tourné sa page de gloire, c’est l’un des rares endroits qui a connu des changements importants. C’est ainsi que sont nées Sant’Elena (1925-1928), Celestia (1938-1939), et les maisons de la partie sud-est de San Pietro.

  Parc national des Lençois Maranhenses au brésil

Museo Storico Navale

Près du célèbre Arsenal, vous trouverez le musée d’histoire navale de Castello, Museo Storico Navale. Ce musée abrite une collection fascinante comprenant des gondoles historiques, d’impressionnantes maquettes de navires et d’autres souvenirs importants pour le passé maritime de Venise. Le Museo Storico Navale est le musée de la marine italienne. Il expose également le passé fascinant de cette organisation.

0
fr_CAFrançais du Canada
%d bloggers like this: